11/03/2014 07:53 EST | Updated 01/03/2015 05:59 EST

5 Manitoba ministers to resign from Premier Greg Selinger's cabinet

Five Manitoba ministers who started a revolt against the leadership of NDP Premier Greg Selinger intend to resign their cabinet posts today.

The five, who will leave cabinet but continue to sit as MLAs, are:

- Jennifer Howard. 

- Stan Struthers.

- Theresa Oswald.

- Andrew Swan.

- Erin Selby.

The ministers will make a formal announcement about their resignations later Monday morning, Howard said.

As a result, there will be a cabinet shuffle, and the new ministers appointed to replace them will be sworn in Monday, Selinger said in a statement.

Howard, minister of finance, told CBC News on Monday that during a weekend meeting between Selinger and the disgruntled cabinet members, he gave them a choice: Take back what they had said against him or resign.

Based on that, Howard said there really was no choice.

She said Selinger is not listening to the advice of his cabinet, so they can no longer function as ministers.

Statement from Premier Greg Selinger

Last week I had direct conversations with members of my team who have chosen another path. In those conversations I made it clear: either focus on the priorities of Manitoba families as a part of our team, or resign. I am saddened by the decisions they've made. I wish to thank each for their contributions toward building a better province.

In 2011, Manitobans elected a dedicated, diverse and experienced group of New Democrat MLAs, representative of every region of our province, with experience in a wide variety of fields.

I will appoint a new cabinet from this talented team. ‎Our government will remain focused on the priorities of all Manitobans — creating jobs and opportunities, investing in infrastructure and protecting services. The new cabinet will be sworn in today.