11/12/2014 12:25 EST | Updated 01/12/2015 05:59 EST

Receiver Duron Carter among 11 Alouettes named to CFL all-star squad

TORONTO - Receiver Duron Carter has plenty of familiar faces joining him on the East Division all-star squad, but tackle Jeff Perrett isn't one of them.

Carter was among 11 Montreal Alouettes named to the team Wednesday in voting conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada and nine CFL head coaches. Surprisingly missing from that group was Perrett, 30, the Als' nominee for the league's outstanding lineman award.

The individual division finalists will be announced Thursday. Perrett is a solid bet to be named the East's top lineman but would secure the honour without having made the all-star team. And that left the towering six-foot-seven, 320-pound native of Lethbridge, Alta., scratching his head.

"It's kind of weird," Perrett said. "People vote how they're going to vote and there's not much I can do about it."

Teammate Josh Bourke and Chris Van Zeyl of the Toronto Argonauts were named the East Division's offensive tackles.

There's no doubt in Montreal head coach Tom Higgins' mind that Perrett, an 2006 third-round pick by the Alouettes out of Tulsa, is an all-star.

"Yes but we have two all-star tackles," he said. "We have no control over that so we just say 'OK, that's the reality' and just deal with it.

"There's no way they're going to give us two tackles or two guards. They both had outstanding years."

The six-foot-five, 205-pound Carter, the son of Pro Football Hall of Fame receiver Cris Carter, had 75 catches for 1,030 yards and seven TDs this season, his second with Montreal. The other all-star selections were running back Brandon Whitaker, receiver S.J. Green, centre Luc Brodeur-Jordain, defensive linemen Alan-Michael Cash and John Bowman, linebackers Chip Cox and Bear Woods and defensive backs Geoff Tisdale and Jerald Brown.

Montreal had the most all-star selections, finishing one ahead of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats and two in front of the Edmonton Eskimos. The expansion Ottawa Redblacks were the only team not to have any players named.

Edmonton's Adarius Bowman, the CFL's leading receiver this season with 112 catches for 1,456 yards and six TDs, was the lone unanimous selection.

Montreal (9-9) hosts the B.C. Lions (9-9) in the East Division semifinal Sunday, a heady accomplishment considering the club had a 1-7 record early in the season. It's a point Higgins made to his players Wednesday.

"It's tough when individuals are selected in a team sport," Higgins said. "But that being said, I let them know when we were 1-7 we didn't have any all-stars, but we, as a team, got ourselves into position to compete for first place.

"Getting to 9-9 let us have, well, one more all-star than Hamilton. It's nice to be recognized. All were well deserved, but it's the ultimate team game. Their teammates gave them the opportunity to be all-stars. One complements the other."

Six of Hamilton's selections were on defence, including defensive linemen Ted Laurent and Eric Norwood, linebacker Simoni Lawrence and defensive backs Delvin Breaux, Derico Murray and Craig Butler. The Ticats' offensive picks were running back Nic Grigsby, receiver Luke Tasker and guard Brian Simmons along with kick-returner Brandon Banks.

The selection of Grigsby was surprising as he'd played just three games with Hamilton after starting the season with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers. Grigsby finished third in CFL rushing with 890 yards and nine TDs while adding 58 catches for 473 yards and one touchdown.

Swayze Waters of the Toronto Argonauts was the lone double nominee, being named the East Division's kicker and punter. Other Argos selected were quarterback Ricky Ray (CFL leader with 4,595 yards and 28 TDs), slotback Chad Owens and offensive linemen Van Zeyl and Tyler Holmes.

Edmonton's Mike Reilly was named the West Division's quarterback after passing for 3,327 yards and rushing for 616 yards (tops among quarterbacks). Other Eskimos named include running back John White, offensive lineman Simeon Rottier, defensive linemen Almondo Sewell and Odell Willis, linebacker Dexter McCoil, defensive back Pat Watkins and special-teams player Deon Lacey.

Running back Jon Cornish, who ran for a CFL-high 1,082 yards despite playing just nine games, headlines the seven Calgary players selected. The Stampeders, who posted a league-best 15-3 record, also placed offensive linemen Brett Jones and Stanley Bryant, punter Rob Maver and defensive backs Fred Bennett, Brandon Smith and Jamar Wall on the squad.

Linebacker Solomon Elimimian, who registered a CFL-record 143 tackles, was among five B.C. Lions named to the West Division squad. Receiver Emmanuel Arceneaux, offensive lineman Jovan Olafioye, linebacker Adam Bighill and kicker Paul McCallum also received nods.

The defending Grey Cup-champion Saskatchewan Roughriders also have five all-star nominees, including defensive lineman John Chick (CFL-high 15 sacks). Also named were receiver Rob Bagg, offensive lineman Brendon LaBatte, defensive lineman Tearrius George and safety Tyron Brackenridge.

Receiver Clarence Denmark was the lone Winnipeg Blue Bomber to earn an all-star selection.

The CFL all-star team will be announced next month.


With files from Bill Beacon in Montreal.