11/17/2014 09:29 EST | Updated 01/17/2015 05:59 EST

Missisauga opens 4 Transitway stations

Mississauga opened the first four stations of its Transitway project to the public on Monday.

Commuters can now use Central Park, Cawthra, Tomken and Dixie stations as part of the city's ongoing Transitway project.

- On mobile? See the City of Mississauga's tweet here

MiWay bus routes 107, 109 and 21 transition today to the Transitway and will start using the new stations.

Commutes will be 3-6 minutes faster

Mississauga is responsible for the project's first phase, which includes the four new stations.

Four additional stations are currently under construction, and work on a fifth station is set to begin soon. Mississauga plans to open those stations in 2016.

Geoff Marinoff, the city's director of transit, says the first phase will allow buses to bypass 10 traffic lights. Riders can expect their commutes to be three to six minutes faster, he says.

Metrolinx is building the west segment from Winston Churchill Boulevard to Erin Mills Parkway, which is expected to start operating in 2016. Metrolinx will begin construction on Renforth station shortly.

The complete transitway will run over 18 kilometres, beginning at Winston Churchill Boulevard and ending at Renforth Drive. It's expected to be finished in 2017.

Once the project is completed, Marinoff says commutes will be 10 to 15 minutes faster.

The new stations were unveiled at an opening ceremony on Nov. 10, and the public got a sneak peek over the weekend.