11/18/2014 10:30 EST | Updated 01/18/2015 05:59 EST

Sean Michaels wins Quebec Writer's Federation fiction award

The Quebec Writers’ Federation announced the winners of the 2014 QWF Literary Awards at a gala hosted in Montreal.

Sean Michaels took home the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for fiction for his debut novel, Us Conductors. 

The QWF literary awards recognize the best in English-language writing published by Quebec writers in the past year.

Awards were handed out on Tuesday evening at a special celebration held at the Corona Theatre in Little Burgundy.

Complete list of winners


Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction ($2,000): Sean Michaels for Us Conductors (Random House Canada)


Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction ($2,000): ChantalHébert for The Morning After: The 1995 Quebec Referendum and the Day that Almost Was (Knopf Canada)


A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry ($2,000): SinaQueyras for MxT (Coach House Books)


QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature ($2,000): Monique Polak for Hate Mail (Orca Book Publishers)


Concordia University First Book Prize ($2,000): Anna Leventhal for Sweet Affliction (Invisible Publishing)


Judy Mappin Community Award: Elizabeth Macdonnell


Quebec Writing Competition — A partnership between CBC Quebec, the Quebec Writers' Federation, Maisonneuve magazine and Véhicule Press, the Quebec Writing Competition recognizes the best original, unpublished stories by Quebec’s English-language writers. This year’s winners are:

First Prize ($1,500): Allegra McKenzie for The Glass Man

Second Prize ($1,000): James Dunnigan for Open Bay

Reader’s Choice Award ($300): Josée Lafrenière for Breath


3Macs carteblanche Prize: Elaine Kennedy and Sheryl Curtis for their translation of DidierLeclair for It’s Late, Doctor Schweitzer