11/27/2014 10:00 EST | Updated 01/27/2015 05:59 EST

Calgary Dinos quarterback Andrew Buckley wins Hec Crighton Trophy

MONTREAL - University of Calgary quarterback Andrew Buckley made history on Thursday night as the first player to be named outstanding player and top academic player in Canadian university football.

Buckley won the Hec Crighton Trophy as the top player in Canadian Interuniversity Sport. The kinesiology student who hopes to go into medicine also took the Russ Jackson Award for his scholastic talent.

"It's pretty cool," said Buckley, whose parents are both doctors. "It's such a huge honour.

"This is going to go down as one of the best days in my life because it's so significant and it means so much to my family. It's always a challenge. During the season, football is my priority and that's where I spent most of my time, but I try to fill my free time up with community stuff and school and trying to focus on being the best student-athlete I can be."

The six-foot 201-pound Buckley guided the Dinos to school records in points, touchdowns and total offence. Calgary led the CIS in all three categories.

The Dinos also became the first team in Canada West history to break the 5,000-yard mark in total offence, to go with 51 touchdowns and 419 points.

"Very few quarterbacks have been able to pass and run as effectively as Andrew Buckley," said Dinos head coach Blake Nill. "His statistics are very impressive, but what is more impressive is that he only played the equivalent of 6.25 games — and there is no question his stats would have been even greater had he played more.

"He is an outstanding leader and competitor. He reads exceptionally well and he is extremely humble and unselfish."

Buckley became the fourth Dino to capture the Hec Crighton award, following quarterback Greg Vavra (1983), receiver Don Blair (1995) and pivot Erik Glavic (2009).

It was his second straight year winning the Jackson Award, which honours excellence in football, academics and citizenship.

Buckley had a 64.3 completion percentage, 2,175 passing yards, and 18 passing touchdowns. He also finished fifth in Canada West in rushing with 510 yards, averaging nearly 64 per game.

The other Hec Crighton nominees were Acadia receiver Brian Jones, Laval quarterback Hugo Richard and Wilfrid Laurier running back Dillon Campbell.

In other awards presented Thursday at the Sheraton Montreal Centre, Saint Mary's linebacker Jonathan Langa captured the Presidents' Trophy as defensive player of the year and Ottawa defensive tackle Ettore Lattanzio won the J.P. Metras Trophy as most outstanding down lineman.

Richard received the Peter Gorman Trophy as top rookie and Mount Allison head coach Kelly Jeffrey claimed the Frank Tindall Trophy.

Langa, a fourth-year criminology student, led the country in total tackles with 80 over eight games.

"Jay is not only a tremendous football player, he is an incredible young man," said Huskies head coach Perry Marchese. "He is a team leader on and off the field. He is an extremely hard worker and gives 100 per cent effort every play, all the time.

"He is the heart and soul of the team and has an amazing future in whatever he decides to do."

Lattanzio, a fourth-year defensive tackle, led the OUA with eight sacks and was tied for the national lead with 14 tackles for a loss. Richard, a mechanical engineering student, led the country in passing yards (2,576), touchdown passes (22) and TD-to-interception ratio (22-4).

Lattanzio was a finalist last year, but lost to McGill's Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, a sixth-round draft pick of the Kansas City Chiefs.

"I knew last year I was up against a tough opponent in Tardif, who is a great athlete," said Lattanzio. "I feel I got it at the right time. It's a sense of relief and also happiness. I'm proud of myself."

Jeffrey became the first Mount Allison coach to win the Tindall Trophy. He has been honoured three times by AUS in his seven years at the helm, including each of the past two campaigns.

Jeffrey guided the Mounties to an 8-0 regular-season record. Mount Allison led the conference in scoring (234 points), rushing touchdowns (14) and total touchdowns (25).

"It was a product of having a veteran team, continuity among the coaching staff and being able to provide some stability," said Jeffrey. "We hadn't had that in a long time and it really helped us get to where we are now."

The CIS also announced its all-Canadian teams Thursday.

On offence, the first team includes Buckley, Campbell, running back Mercer Timmis of Calgary, receivers Brett Blaszko of Calgary, Mikhail Davidson of Montreal, Addison Richards of Regina, Nathaniel Behar of Carleton, linemen Sean McEwen of Calgary, Western teammates Edmund Meredith and Sean Jamieson, and Laval teammates Karl Lavoie and Charles Vaillancourt.

On defence, the first team includes linemen Lattanzio of Ottawa, Daryl Waud of Western, Vincent Desloges of Laval and Jesse St. James of Acadia, linebackers Langa, Byron Archambault of Montreal, Adam Konar of Calgary, safety Kwame Adjei of Mount Allison, halfbacks Kris Robertson of Concordia and Chris Ackie of Laurier, as well as corners Adam Laurensse of Calgary and Paolo Edwards of St. FX.

The special-teams first team includes Laval punter Boris Bede, McMaster placekicker Tyler Crapigna and UBC kick returner Marcus Davis.

On Saturday, the McMaster Marauders will play the Montreal Carabins in the Vanier Cup at Percival Molson Memorial Stadium.