12/04/2014 01:08 EST | Updated 02/03/2015 05:59 EST

Accolades to continue to roll in for Elimimian as CFL all-star team is announced

TORONTO - The post-season accolades continue to roll in for Solomon Elimimian.

The B.C. Lions linebacker was named to the 2014 CFL all-star team Thursday. The move was hardly a surprise, as Elimimian took home the CFL's most outstanding player and top defensive player awards last month.

Elimimian, the first pure defensive player to win the CFL's top individual honour, had a huge 2014 season with 143 defensive tackles and 151 total tackles, both league records, and added five sacks.

It's the second career all-star nod for Elimimian.

The Edmonton Eskimos had the most nominations to the all-star team with seven.

Running back John White, receiver Adarius Bowman and guard Simeon Rottier were called to represent the Eskimos on the offensive side, while defensive linemen Almondo Sewell and Odell Willis, linebacker Dexter McCoil and cornerback Patrick Watkins were named from Edmonton's defence.

The 2014 Grey Cup champion Calgary Stampeders had five players named to the team, led by star Canadian running back Jon Cornish.

Cornish led the league in rushing despite only playing half of the regular season.

Centre Brett Jones, offensive tackle Stanley Bryant and defensive backs Brandon Smith and Jamar Wall were Calgary's other representatives.

Brandon Banks, whose electrifying returns helped Hamilton advance to the Grey Cup final, was named as the special teams player.

Hamilton also sent defensive tackle Ted Laurent and cornerback Delvin Breaux to the all-star team.

Toronto's Ricky Ray, the East Division's nomination for most outstanding player, was named the team's quarterback. He was joined by Argos slotback Chad Owens, named an all-star for the fourth time in his career, and Swayze Waters, selected as the team's kicker and punter.

The Lions had one other nomination to the team, four-time all-star offensive tackle Jovan Olafioye.

Offensive guard Brendon LaBatte, defensive end John Chick and safety Tyron Brackenridge were the Saskatchewan Roughriders who made the grade.

The Montreal Alouettes were represented by receiver Duron Carter and linebacker Bear Woods.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers were represented by receiver Clarence Denmark. The expansion Ottawa Redblacks did not have a player selected to the team.

America Votes
The latest polls, breaking news and analysis on the U.S. election from HuffPost’s Washington, D.C. bureau