12/16/2014 07:46 EST | Updated 02/15/2015 05:59 EST

Danielle Smith Among 7 Wildrose MLAs Crossing To Alberta PC Party


Seven Wildrose MLAs are planning to cross to Alberta’s governing Progressive Conservative party, CBC news has learned.

Two party sources said the seven are:

  • Party leader Danielle Smith (Highwood)
  • House leader Rob Anderson (Airdrie)
  • Jeff Wilson (Calgary-Shaw)
  • Gary Bikman (Cardston-Taber-Warner)
  • Pat Stier (Livingston-Macleod)
  • Blake Pederson (Medicine Hat)
  • Jason Hale.(Strathmore-Brooks)

Members of the 14-person caucus met Tuesday afternoon to discuss an offer from the PCs, led by Premier Jim Prentice.

MLAs Shayne Saskiw, Drew Barnes and Rick Strankman said on social media that they were planning to stick with the Wildrose, which is the official opposition.

Currently, the PCs have 63 seats, the Liberals hold five, the NDP have four. There is one independent MLA.

The executive of the party is holding a teleconference Tuesday night to discuss what’s next.

The PCs are holding a caucus meeting on Wednesday. Earlier in the day, Prentice refused to answer questions about a any potential floor crossings.

"These matters are dealt with at our caucus and certainly we'll deal with it tomorrow," he said.

The Wildrose has had a rough few months. Candidates failed to win the four seats up for grabs in the Oct. 27 byelections.

Last month, two Wildrose MLAs, including Smith's close friend Kerry Towle, crossed to the PCs. In early November, Joe Anglin left the Wildrose to sit as an independent in the legislature.