01/26/2015 12:27 EST | Updated 03/28/2015 05:59 EDT

Brown leads B.C. women back to playoffs at Canadian junior curling championships

CORNER BROOK, N.L. - Corryn Brown led her B.C. rink to the championship round of the Canadian junior curling championships on Monday with an 8-3 win over Carina McKay-Saturnino of the Northwest Territories in women's Pool B play.

B.C. improved to 5-0 with the win, and erased the hurt of missing the national championships in 2014, a year after winning the Canadian title.

"I really think that was kind of the huge driving factor for us, definitely. That was a crushing defeat, for sure," said Brown, referring to losing in the provincial final a year ago. "And it really made us want it more, to be honest. The first year we won it, we didn't really have any past experience, but having won it and then losing it? That was a huge crushing disappointment, especially being defending Canadian champions."

Nova Scotia's Mary Fay (3-2) improved her hopes of moving on to the championship round with a 6-4 win over Prince Edward Island's Veronica Smith (2-4), while New Brunswick's Justine Comeau (3-2) stole three in the 10th end for an 8-6 win over Newfoundland/Labrador's Sarah Hill (0-5).

In Pool A, Alberta's Kelsey Rocque (5-0) is moving on after a bye on Monday night. Also clinching a position in the championship round was Ontario's Chelsea Brandwood (5-1), who beat Manitoba's Beth Peterson (2-3) 8-3.

In men's action, both pool leaders locked up their spots in the championship round.

In Pool A, Quebec's Felix Asselin ran his win streak to five games with a 6-2 triumph over Nova Scotia's Matthew Manuel (1-4).

In Pool B, Alberta's Karsten Sturmay also improved to 5-0 with an 8-2 win over the Yukon's Joe Wallingham (2-4), while New Brunswick's Rene Comeau (4-1) clinched his championship round berth by beating Matthew Miller of the Northwest Territories (0-5) 10-5.

Saskatchewan's Jacob Hersikorn (4-1) had the bye on Monday night.

In the other men's Pool A game, Newfoundland/Labrador's Greg Smith (2-3) beat Nunavut's Kane Komaksiutiksak (0-4).