02/08/2015 08:56 EST | Updated 04/10/2015 05:59 EDT

Jacobs, Gushue advance to Canadian men's curling championship

Olympic gold medallists Brad Jacobs and Brad Gushue joined the field of the 2015 Canadian men's curling championship by winning their respective provinces Sunday.

The roster of teams for the 2015 Tim Hortons Brier in Calgary from Feb. 28 to March 8 is nearly complete after eight provinces and a territories declared their champion Sunday.

Kevin Koe (Alberta), Jim Cotter (B.C.), Steven Laycock (Saskatchewan), Reid Carruthers (Manitoba), Glen MacLeod (Nova Scotia), Jamie Koe (Northwest Territories) and Mark Kean (Ontario) also joined the Brier field.

Quebec's Jean-Michel Menard, New Brunswick's Jeremy Mallais and Yukon's Bob Smallwood had qualified in earlier playdowns.

Prince Edward Island's men's final is scheduled for Tuesday.

This year's Brier will include a defending champion Team Canada for the first time to mirror the national women's championship.

Calgary's John Morris will skip that team, which includes third Pat Simmons, second Carter Rycroft and lead Nolan Thiessen.

Koe won last year's Brier with the three men, but left the foursome to form a new team which defeated Brendan Bottcher 7-4 in the Alberta championship.

Jacobs capped an undefeated run through Northern Ontario with a 7-4 win over veteran Al Hackner.

Jacobs, third Ryan Fry and the front end of E.J. Harnden and Ryan Harnden won the 2013 Canadian and world titles before winning Olympic gold last year in Sochi, Russia.

Gushue, the 2006 Olympic champion, will represent Newfoundland and Labrador for the 12th time in his career.

He faced only one challenger in the provincial championship in Labrador City. Gushue concluded a three-game sweep of Gary Wensman with an 8-6 win Sunday.

Carruthers will skip Manitoba at the Brier for the first time, although he's played in three as a teammate of Jeff Stoughton.

It was more heartbreak for Mike McEwen in Manitoba as his 5-3 loss to Carruthers was his fifth loss in the provincial men's final in the last six years.

Koe will represent Northwest Territories a ninth time after edging Stephen Moss 5-4 in an extra end.

Kean needed an extra end to get by John Epping 7-6 in Ontario.

MacLeod downed defending champion Jamie Murphy 8-5 to win New Brunswick.

Laycock defeated Jason Jacobson 8-7 in the 10th end in Saskatchewan. Cotter also went an extra end to defeat Dean Joanisse 7-6 in B.C.