03/22/2015 08:09 EDT | Updated 05/22/2015 05:59 EDT

Mike McEwen wins inaugural Syncrude Elite 10 curling title

Winnipeg skip Mike McEwen claimed the inaugural Syncrude Elite 10 title by defeating Sweden's Niklas Edin in Sunday's final match in Fort McMurray, Alta.

The team claimed their fifth career Pinty's Grand Slam of Curling championship by nailing the runback with their final shot in the seventh to count two and capture the 2 & 1 victory. 

McEwen's Canadian rink, that includes B.J. Neufeld, Matt Wozniak and Denni Neufeld, earned their eighth World Curling Tour title this season.

It was no easy feat to contend given the tournament's unique format. The match play format required a team to score two or more or steal at least one to win an end. The hammer would switch when there was a push. 

McEwen defeated Calgary's Kevin Koe 3 & 2 to make it to the final, while Edin took down reigning Olympic champion Brad Jacobs.