04/16/2015 14:59 EDT | Updated 06/16/2015 01:12 EDT

Yukon becomes first territory to join Ottawa's national securities regulator

OTTAWA - Yukon has become the first territory to sign up for the federal government's planned national securities regulator.The Finance Department says the territory will join British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island.Once implemented, the co-operative national body is expected to help oversee stock markets by policing abuses and securities fraud.Canada currently is the only G20 country without a national securities regulator.Ottawa says the participating jurisdictions are inviting the remaining provinces and territories to join the system.But the key jurisdictions of Alberta and Quebec have refused to join the national regulator.