05/22/2015 20:15 EDT | Updated 05/22/2016 01:12 EDT

Murray, Sather, Yzerman named finalists for general manager of the year

NEW YORK, N.Y. - The NHL announced on Friday its three finalists for general manager of the year.Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks, Glen Sather of the New York Rangers and Steve Yzerman of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the three finalists for 2014-15.Murray, who won the award in 2013-14, put together a Ducks team that posted the top record in the Western Conference for the second consecutive season at 51-24-7. Anaheim captured its third straight Pacific Division title with the second-best record in franchise history and has reached the conference finals for the first time since its Stanley Cup win in 2007.Sather assembled a roster that went 53-22-7 during the regular season to set franchise records for wins and points in capturing the third Presidents' Trophy in franchise history while also advancing to the conference finals for the third time in the past four seasons. Sather is a finalist for the first time since the award was introduced in 2009-10.After leading Tampa Bay to the conference finals in 2010-11, his first season in charge, Yzerman oversaw the rebuild to a roster that has returned to the final four with just two holdovers from the 2011 squad — cornerstone centre Steven Stamkos and defenceman Victor Hedman. Bolstered by acquisitions through the draft, free agency and trades, the Lightning set franchise records with 50 wins and 108 points during the regular season. Yzerman is a finalist for the award for the second time, finishing second in balloting in 2010-11.The winner will be announced June 24 during the 2015 NHL awards in Las Vegas.