05/28/2015 04:42 EDT | Updated 05/28/2016 05:59 EDT

13 Canadian women chosen for Pan Am water polo team

The Canadian women's water polo team will send 13 athletes to the Pan Am Games in Toronto.

The team was announced jointly on Thursday by Water Polo Canada and the Canadian Olympic Committee.

Canada will be led by two-time Olympian and two-time Pan Am Games medallist Johanne Bégin, of Sainte-Foy, Que., who is now coach of the women's national team.

Canada has won medals in women's water polo at every edition of the Pan Am Games since winning gold in the event's debut in Winnipeg in 1999.

"Canada has had great success in water polo at previous Pan Am Games, and I hope the teams announced today will allow this success to continue," said Bégin. "Good luck to the athletes who will compete at the beautiful new Atos Markham Pan Am/Parapan Am Centre."

The team consists of:

- Krystina Alogbo, Rivière-des-Prairies, Que., Attacker

- Joelle Bekhazi, Pointe-Claire, Que., Attacker

- Carmen Eeggens, Pitt Meadows, B.C., Centre & Utility

- Monika Eggens, Pitt Meadows, B.C., Attacker

- Shae Fournier, Winnipeg, Man., Attacker

- Jessica Gaudreault, Ottawa, Ont., Goaltender

- Jakie Kohli, Burnaby, B.C., Defender

- Katrina Monton, Dorval, Que.,Centre

- Dominique Perreault, Montréal, Attacker

- Christine Robinson, Lachine, Que., Utility

- Stephanie Valin, Pointe-Claire, Que., Attacker

- Claire Wright, Lindsay, Ont.,Goaltender

- Emma Wright, Lindsay, Ont., Attacker