06/04/2015 12:53 EDT | Updated 06/04/2016 05:59 EDT

Coach names Canada rugby squad for women's Super Series in Alberta

TORONTO - Coach Francois Ratier has named 12 veterans of the 2014 World Cup to his squad for the Women's Super Series in Alberta.

The tournament feature Canada, England, New Zealand and the U.S. with doubleheaders scheduled for Calgary, Red Deer and Edmonton on June 27, July 1 and July 5, respectively.

"We are two years away from the next World Cup," Ratier said in a statement Thursday. "It is time for young or new players to have their chance and for the returning players to take the lead. I am expecting a strong chemistry during this Super Series.

"Team culture is the key and the team will always be more important than individuals."

Tyson Beukeboom, Latoya Blackwood, Andrea Burk, Olivia DeMerchant, Mary-Jane Kirby, Barbara Mervin, Jacey Murphy, Laura Russell, Maria Samson, Amanda Thornborough, Brittany Waters and Julianne Zussman are the returning World Cup players.

It's the first outing for the Canadian women since the World Cup, where Canada finished runner-up to England.

Ratier will announce his captain at a later date.


Canada Roster

Gillian Allen, Kirin, Saskatoon; Tyson Beukeboom, Aurora Barbarians, Uxbridge, Ont.; Layota Blackwood, St. Anne de Bellevue, Montreal; Andrea Burk, Capilano RFC, North Vancouver; Olivia DeMerchant, Woodstock Wildmen, Mapledale, N.B.; Julia Folk, Regina Rogues, Regina; Lisa Gauthier, St-Anne de Bellevue, St-Bernardino, Ont.; Chelsea Guthrie, Stratchona Druids, Edmonton; Lori Josephson, Aurora Barbarians, Beaverton, Ont.; Mary-Jane Kirby, Highland RFC, Brampton, Ont.; Carolyn McEwan, Burnaby Lake Rugby Club, Vancouver; Katie McNally, Velox Valkries, Guelph, Ont.; DaLeaka Menin, Hornets, Vulcan, Alta.; Barbara Mervin, Velox RFC, Peterborough, Ont.; Jacey Murphy, Aurora Barbarians, Alliston, Ont.; Jess Neilson, Meraloma, Vancouver; Cindy Nelles, Belleville Bulldogs, Belleville, Ont.; Tiffany Picketts, UVic Vikes and Abbotsford Rugby Club, Abbotsford, B.C.; Camile Provencal-Aube, Abenakis et CRQ, Sherbrooke, Que.; Laura Russell, Toronto Nomads, Bolton, Ont.; Maria Samson, Calgary Hornets, Calgary; Natasha Smith, Barrhaven Scottish, Ottawa; Emma Taylor, St F-X, Scotsburn, N.S.; Alex Tessier, Montreal Barbarians, Sainte-Clotilde-de-Horton, Que.; Amanda Thornborough, Brandon Barbarians RFC, Brandon, Man.; Brittany Waters, Meraloma Athletic Club, Vancouver; Julianne Zussman, Town of Mount Royal RFC, Montreal.

Head Coach: Francois Ratier