06/19/2015 11:19 EDT | Updated 06/19/2016 05:59 EDT

World Cup defender Kadeisha Buchanan to lead Canada at Pan American Games

TORONTO - Fresh from the Women's World Cup, teenage defender Kadeisha Buchanan will lead the Canadian women's soccer team at the Pan American Games.

The 19-year-old rising star is one of four World Cup team members on the young Games squad coached by Daniel Worthington. The others are goalkeeper Stephanie Labbe and midfielders Ashley Lawrence and Jessie Fleming.

Rebecca Quinn, Janine Beckie, Nichelle Prince and Chelsea Stewart have also seen time with the Canadian senior side. Defender Kinley McNicholl captained Canada at the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

The Games run July 10-26 with the soccer competition taking place in Hamilton.

The women open Group B competition against Ecuador on July 11 before facing Costa Rica on July 15 and Brazil on July 19.

The Canadian women are defending Games champion, winning four years ago in Guadalajara in John Herdman's debut at the Canadian helm. The Canadian World Cup coach will assist Daniel Worthington at the Toronto Games.

Since women's football made its debut in Pan American competition at the 1999 Winnipeg Games, Canada has one gold, one silver, one bronze medal, and a fourth-place finish.

Canada will be fielding an under-22 men's team in preparation for Olympic qualifying, which is expected to start this fall.

The roster includes goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau, defenders Kevon Black, Manjrekar James, Jonathan Grant and Jeremy Gagnon-Lapare, midfielders Chris Mannella and Manny Aparicio, and forwards Hanson Boakai and Caleb Clarke, who have all spent time in camp with the senior team.

The Canadian men will be making their first appearance at the Pan American Games since 1999 when they finished fourth in Winnipeg.

Canada opens July 12 against Brazil in Group A before playing Panama on July 16 and Peru on July 20. The top two teams in each of the two groups qualify for the medal rounds.

With senior coach Benito Floro tied up with the Gold Cup, his son Antonio Floro will coach the men's Games team.


Canada Men

Goalkeepers: Maxime Crepeau, Candiac, Que., Montreal Impact; Ricky Gomes, Kitchener, Ont., MVV Maastricht (the Netherlands).

Defenders: Adam Bouchard, Oakville, Ont., Toronto FC 2; Kevon Black, Brampton, Ont., Toronto FC 2; Alex Comsia, North Vancouver, Carolina Railhawks U-23; Jackson Farmer, Edmonton, Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2; Jonathan Grant, Pickering, Ont.; FC Montreal; Manjrekar James, Toronto, Pecsi MFC (Hungary).

Midfielders: Kevin Aleman, Brampton, Ont., CS Herediano (Costa Rica), Manuel Aparicio, Toronto, Toronto FC 2; Louis Beland-Goyette, Montreal, FC Montreal; Jeremy Gagnon-Lapare, Sherbrooke, Que., Montreal Impact; Chris Mannella, Toronto, Toronto FC 2.

Forwards: Hanson Boakai, Edmonton, FC Edmonton; Molham Babouli, Mississauga, Ont., Toronto FC 2; Caleb Clarke, Richmond, B.C., Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2; Raheem Edwards, Toronto, Toronto FC 2; Ben Fisk, Vancouver, Coruxo FC (Spain).

Head Coach: Antonio Floro

Coach: Francisco Javier Perez

Coach: Carmine Isacco

Goalkeeper Coach: Nuno Santos.

Canada Women

Goalkeepers: Stephanie Labbe, Stony Plain, Alta., unattached; Kailen Sheridan, Whitby, Ont., Clemson University.

Defenders: Kadeisha Buchanan, Brampton, Ont.; West Virginia University; Kinley McNicholl, Oakville, Ont., University of Wisconsin; Victoria Pickett, Barrie, Ont., Glen Shields Soccer Club; Rebecca Quinn, Toronto, Duke University; Chelsea Stewart, Highland Ranch, Colo., Western New York Flash; Shelina Zadorsky, London, Ont., Vittsjo (Sweden).

Midfielders: Emma Fletcher, Victoria, University of California; Jessie Fleming, London, Ont.; London Nor'West SC; Sarah Kinzner, Calgary, Calgary Foothills SC; Ashley Lawrence, Toronto, West Virginia University; Janine Beckie, Littlejohn, Colo., Texas Tech University; Gabrielle Carle, Levis, Que.; AS Armada Chaudiere-Est; Danica Wu, Edmonton, Herdorfer (Germany).

Forwards: Nkem Ezurike, Halifax, Boston Breakers; Marie Levasseur, Stoneham, Que., CS Haute St- Charles; Nichelle Prince, Ajax, Ont., Ohio State University.

Head Coach: Daniel Worthington

Coach: John Herdman

Goalkeeper Coach: Simon Eaddy.

Follow @NeilMDavidson on Twitter