10/06/2015 09:44 EDT | Updated 10/06/2016 05:12 EDT

Canadian Arthur B. McDonald shares Nobel Prize in physics

STOCKHOLM — Canada's Arthur McDonald and Takaaki Kajita of Japan have won the Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of neutrino oscillations.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said the two researchers had made key contributions to experiments showing that neutrinos change identities.

"The discovery has changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe," the academy said.

Kajita is director of the Institute for Cosmic Ray Research and professor at the University of Tokyo.

McDonald is a professor emeritus at Queen's University in Kingston, Canada.

The winners will split about $960,000 in prize money.

Each winner also gets a diploma and a gold medal at the prize ceremony on Dec. 10.


The Canadian Press