This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada, which closed in 2021.

Fun Facts About Candy Corn -- Plus Tips For How To Use Leftovers

Love it or hate it, candy corn is a Halloween classic.

Like the Pumpkin Spice Latte, candy corn has a reputation for being one of the most loved and hated autumn treats around.

In the infographic below by Trillion Creative, we learn a few fun facts about controversial candy — like the fact that its recipe is 135 years old! Or that the original candy corn kernels (which were gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free and vegetarian) were once called "chicken feed".

These days, the many candy corn makers still follow the same recipe from the 1880s, but it's always a good idea to check the package, since some manufacturers use recipes that contain gelatin.

Oh, and if you can't stand eating candy corn on its own, you're in luck. In the slideshow below, we share some of our favourite candy corn recipes to help put those unwanted candies to good use.

Also on HuffPost

Suggest a correction
This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada. Certain site features have been disabled. If you have questions or concerns, please check our FAQ or contact support@huffpost.com.