11/01/2015 07:39 EST | Updated 10/31/2016 05:12 EDT

Josh Donaldson, Bryce Harper Win 2015 Hank Aaron awards

NEW YORK — Josh Donaldson is the American League's winner of the 2015 Hank Aaron award.

Major League Baseball announced on Saturday that the Blue Jays all-star third baseman was selected for the award, which is decided upon through fan voting and a panel of Hall of Famers led by Aaron. The award recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league.

Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals won the award for the National League. 

"Josh played a pivotal role in the Blue Jays' first playoff season in 22 years, contributing to one of the game's best lineups," said MLB commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr. "Both players honoured the enduring legacy of Hank Aaron with all-around excellence throughout the 2015 season."

Donaldson set career-highs in nearly every offensive category during his first season as a member of the Jays. The 29-year-old batted .297 with 122 runs scored, 184 hits, 41 doubles, 41 home runs, 123 RBIs, a .371 on-base percentage and a .568 slugging percentage in 158 games.

He ranked first among Major Leaguers in runs scored, while pacing the American League in RBIs and extra-base hits (84).

Harper hit a career-best .330 with 118 runs scored, 172 hits, 38 doubles, 42 home runs, 99 RBIs, a .460 on-base percentage and a .649 slugging percentage in 153 games.

The Hank Aaron award was established in 1999. This season fans could cast their votes online while Hall of Famers Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas and Robin Yount were selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to choose the best offensive performer in each League.


Also on HuffPost

Photo galleryWorld Series Blue Jays Now See Gallery