02/02/2016 01:38 EST | Updated 02/02/2016 06:59 EST

Alberta Premier Rachel Notley Adds 6 New Faces To Cabinet

Jason Franson/CP

EDMONTON — Alberta Premier Rachel Notley has expanded her inner circle by almost half, carved up responsibilities and titles and appointed an openly gay cabinet minister.

Ricardo Miranda, who represents the constituency of Calgary Cross, now heads Culture and Tourism.

"I guess it's historic in some ways, but to me it's just a reflection of how far we've come in this province,'' Miranda said after he was sworn in at Government House on Tuesday.

Kristopher Wells, director of the Institute for Sexual Minority Studies at the University of Alberta, used Twitter to congratulate Miranda on becoming the "first publicly out LGBTQ cabinet minister in Alberta's history!''

Also new to cabinet are Calgary backbenchers Stephanie McLean and Brandy Payne, both of whom are pregnant.

McLean, the former deputy whip and due in less than a week, is the new minister for Service Alberta, which is in charge of provincial registries. She will also be responsible for the status of women, a duty formerly held by Environment Minister Shannon Phillips.

Payne becomes the associate minister for health.

Notley said the cabinet ministers who previously ran those portfolios will take over responsibilities as necessary while McLean and Payne are on maternity leave.

"I know Minister McLean will be hoping to come back to work as soon as possible after she has had her baby, but, of course, you have to see how things go,'' the premier said.

"But we're going to accommodate that and ensure that we are a place where women can engage fully in the opportunities for leadership that all Albertans want and need to see them adopt.''

ricardo miranda

Justice Minister Kathleen Ganley shakes hands with Alberta Minister of Culture and Tourism Ricardo Miranda as he is sworn in as a new cabinet minister. (Photo: Jason Franson/CP)

Lori Sigurdson was moved from advanced education and labour to seniors and housing. Former whip Marlin Schmidt from Edmonton takes over advanced education as a stand-alone portfolio.

Richard Feehan, also an Edmonton member of the legislature, is the new minister for Indigenous Relations, which used to be part of the Justice Ministry.

Christina Gray takes over the Labour Ministry and will also look after the new portfolio of democratic renewal. Gray is currently chairing an all-party committee looking at ways to make the democratic process more transparent and accountable.

Health Minister Sarah Hoffman takes on the added responsibility of deputy premier.

Miranda's culture and tourism responsibility used to be held by Education Minister David Eggen.

Second cabinet shuffle

This is the second change to a 12-member cabinet Notley appointed when her NDP government assumed power last May. She added the Economic Development Department in October and named Deron Bilous as its minister.

Danielle Larivee, a backbencher at the time, was elevated to Bilous's old job as municipal affairs minister.

Notley said the original cabinet worked well, but as her government implements changes, more responsibility needs to be shared.

"It was never our plan to keep the cabinet that size (at 12),'' she said. "It was our plan to focus on our priorities and get a lay of the land and establish a key overarching framework.

"Now we're in the position where we're going to get more of that work done.''

The changes mean half the cabinet, nine out of 19 ministers, are from Edmonton.

Six are from Calgary, three are from north-central Alberta and one is from Lethbridge in the south. Ten of the 19 are women.

Notley's new cabinet:

  • Rachel Notley: Premier, president of executive council
  • Sarah Hoffman: Deputy premier, minister of health
  • Brian Mason: Government house leader, minister of infrastructure, minister of transportation
  • David Eggen: Education
  • Deron Bilous: Economic development and trade, deputy government house leader
  • Joe Ceci: President of treasury board, finance
  • Kathleen Ganley: Solicitor general, justice
  • Shannon Phillips: Environment and parks, responsible for climate change office
  • Oneil Carlier: Agriculture and forestry, deputy government house leader
  • Danielle Larivee: Municipal affairs
  • Marg McCuaig-Boyd: Energy
  • Irfan Sabir: Human services
  • Lori Sigurdson: Seniors, housing
  • Richard Feehan: Indigenous relations
  • Christina Gray: Labour, responsible for democratic renewal
  • Stephanie McLean: Service Alberta, status of women
  • Ricardo Miranda: Culture and tourism
  • Marlin Schmidt: Advanced education
  • Brandy Payne: Associate minister of health

Also on HuffPost:

Photo gallery
Rachel Notley's Cabinet
See Gallery