03/18/2016 09:01 EDT | Updated 03/19/2017 01:12 EDT

Chantal Peticlerc, André Pratte among those named to senate

Chantal Petitclerc, a world-record-holding wheelchair racer from Saint-Marc-des-Carrières, Que., and André Pratte, former editor-in-chief of La Presse, are among those named to the Senate.

Petitclerc, a 14-time Paralympic gold medallist, was Canada's chef de mission at the 2014 Commonwealth Games — the first time a Paralympic athlete has held the post. 

She is also Canada's chef de mission for the Rio Paralympics in September 2016.

This morning she tweeted, "There we go: feeling humbled."

Pratte is a prominent public intellectual known for his pro-federalist stance.

"He became very well known in Quebec and the rest of Canada for his strong positions, which clearly conferred on him a role as a leader and public influencer," said a release from the Prime Minister's Office.

Others named to the senate include:

- Murray Sinclair,  jurist who led the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

- Peter Harder, a former bureaucrat who led Justin Trudeau's transition team.

- Raymonde Gagné, former president of Manitoba's Université de Saint-Boniface.

- Frances Lankin, a former Ontario NDP cabinet minister and a national security expert.

- Ratna Omidvar, executive director at Ryerson University's Global Diversity Exchange.

According to the Senate's website, Ontario had eight vacancies before today's appointments, Quebec had six and Manitoba had four. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick both had two vacancies, while British Columbia and Prince Edward Island had one each.