04/06/2016 21:00 EDT | Updated 04/07/2017 01:12 EDT

Senators prospect and Huskies star Francis Perron named MVP of the QMJHL

MONTREAL — Francis Perron of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies was named most valuable player in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League on Wednesday night.

Perron, 19, had 41 goals and 108 points in 62 games this season to place second in the league to Connor Garland of the Moncton Wildcats, who had 128 points. Garland, an Arizona Coyotes draft pick who got the Jean Beliveau Trophy as scoring leader, was last year's league MVP.

Blainville, Que., native Perron was drafted 190th overall by the Ottawa Senators in 2014.

Perron's teammate Chase Marchand got the Jacques Plante Trophy as goaltender of the year with 29 wins in 38 appearances, with a .911 save percentage and a 2.42 goals-against average.

And the Huskies' Gilles Bouchard got both the Ron Lapointe Trophy as coach of the year and the Maurice Filion Trophy as general manager of the year after leading the Huskies to first place with 113 points.

Samuel Girard of the Shawinigan Cataractes got the Emile Bouchard Trophy as defenceman of the year and the Frank Selke Trophy as the most sportsmanlike player. The five-foot-nine Girard, 17, had 10 goals, 64 assists and only 10 penalty minutes in 67 games.

Another Cataracte, Alexis D'Aoust, was named scholastic player of the year.

Vitali Abramov of the Gatineau Olympiques was named rookie of the year after posting 38 goals and 93 points in 63 games.

Pierre-Luc Dubois of the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles was named best professional prospect. The draft-eligible Dubois finished third in league scoring with 42 goals and 57 assists in 62 games. He was plus-40 for the season.

Dubois also got the Paul Dumont Tropy as personality of the year.

Samuel Roberge of the Rimouski Oceanic got the humanitarian and community involvement trophy.

The first all-star team had Etienne Montpetit of the Val d'Or Foreurs in goal, Girard and Philippe Myers of Rouyn-Noranda on defence and Perron, garland and Nicolas Roy at forward.

The second team had Julio Billia of the Chicoutimi Sagueneens in net, Thomas Chabot of the Saint John Sea Dogs and Jeremy Lauzon of the Huskies on defence and Dubois, D'Aoust and Anthony Beauregard of Val d'Or up front.

The all-rookie team had Mathieu Bellemare of Gatineau in goal, Zachary Lauzon of Rouyn-Noranda and Pascal Corbeil of Blainville-Bpoisbriand on defence and Abramov, Antoine Morand of the Acadie-Bathurst Titan and Maxime Comtois of the Victoriaville Tigres as forwards.

Former stars Jose Theodore, Daniel Briere, Real Cloutier and Mario Marois and ex-coach Ron Lapointe were inducted into QMJHL Hall of Fame.

Bill Beacon, The Canadian Press