04/25/2016 20:30 EDT | Updated 04/26/2017 01:12 EDT

Raptors' Dwane Casey wins PBWA's Rudy Tomjanovich Award

NEW YORK — Toronto's Dwane Casey has won the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, given by the Professional Basketball Writers Association to an NBA coach who combines co-operation with the media and fans with excellence on the court.

Casey beat out Charlotte's Steve Clifford, the Clippers' Doc Rivers, Boston's Brad Stevens and Detroit's Stan Van Gundy in voting Monday.

Casey led Toronto to a franchise-best 56-26 record and the No. 2 seed in the Eastern Conference. He will be presented the trophy Tuesday before the Raptors host Indiana, with their series tied 2-2.

The award is named for former NBA coach Rudy Tomjanovich, who led the Rockets to consecutive titles in 1994 and 1995. Golden State's Steve Kerr won last year.

The Associated Press