12/03/2016 14:41 EST | Updated 12/04/2017 00:12 EST

Pic of the crop: Charlottetown photo contest winners announced

Alana Sprague and Nicole Yard are the grand prize winners of this year's Picture Charlottetown contest.

Sprague won in the adult category for her picture of the Veterans Memorial framed through blades of grass.

Yard won the youth category for her close-up shot of a horse.

The public was invited to submit photos of Charlottetown between July 4 to Oct. 31.

Local photographer Brian McInnis, Beth Hoar of Green Thumb Photography, and Holland College Photography and Digital Imaging Instructor Alex Murchison judged the photos based on originality, creativity, technical quality, composition, overall impact and artistic merit.

The top 10 photos were featured in an exhibit at City Hall from Nov. 28 to Dec. 1 and the public was invited to vote for their favourite.

350 submissions

In total, the city received more than 350 submissions.

The winners of the Picture Charlottetown Photo Contest are as follows:

  • Grand Prize (adult category): Alana Sprague – $750 cash, 1-night accommodation at The Holman Grand Hotel, 2 tickets to a 2017 performance at the Confederation Centre of the Arts.
  • Second Place (adult category): Jordi Segers – $100 cash, $100 gift card for Ellen's Creek Gallery and jewelry from Swoon Creations.
  • Honourable Mention (adult category): Iain Macleod – $50 gift card and jewelry from Swoon Creations.
  • Grand Prize (youth category): Nicole Yard – $250 cash, Cow's Ultimate Kids' Prize Package, 4 Harbour Hippo Passes and 4 theatre tickets from The Guild for Anne & Gilbert - The Musical.
  • Second Place (youth category): Julie Daniels – $100 Owl's Hollow gift card, and tickets to an Island Storm game.
  • People's Choice Award: Kara Mackenzie – $100 Downtown Charlottetown Dollars from DCI's Downtown Dollars Program
  • Honourable Mention (youth category): Nate Walsh – $50 gift card
  • Honourable Mention (Flora and Fauna): Matthew Beardsley – $25 gift card
  • Honourable Mention (Scenes): Mark McCaffrey – $25 gift card
  • Honourable Mention (People): Michele Benoit Guignard – $25 gift card
  • Honourable Mention (Places): Kara MacKenzie – $25 gift card

MORE P.E.I. NEWS | Kensington police officer apologizes to Nickelback for Facebook post

MORE P.E.I. NEWS | Should you have another? Islanders unaware of low-risk drinking limits