01/28/2017 02:15 EST | Updated 01/28/2017 02:17 EST

WestJet Waives Cancellation Fee For Travellers Trump Has Banned

President Trump banned people from seven predominately Muslim countries.

TORONTO — A Canadian airline has issued an advisory to travellers after President Donald Trump banned people with passports from seven predominantly Muslim countries from entering the U.S.

WestJet says it is waiving its cancellation fee for people who hold passports from Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Somalia, Syria, Yemen and Libya.

WestJet signage is displayed on a band at Vancouver International Airport in 2013.

It was not immediately clear whether the ban applies to Canadians who hold dual citizenship with those countries.

A representative from the Canada Border Services Agency deferred questions to U.S. Customs and Border Protection.

Representatives from Global Affairs and U.S. Customs and Border Protection did not immediately respond to requests for comment.

A U.S. federal law enforcement official told The Associated Press there was an exemption for foreigners whose entry is in the U.S. national interest, but it was not immediately clear how that exemption might be applied.

Also on HuffPost

Photo gallery 7 Deadly Threats Facing Innocent Syrian Civilians See Gallery