07/18/2017 18:39 EDT | Updated 07/20/2017 07:13 EDT

Melanie Mark Becomes B.C.'s 1st First Nations Woman In Cabinet

Last year, Mark became the first female MLA from a First Nation.

Chad Hipolito/Canadian Press
Melanie Mark, MLA for Vancouver-Mt Pleasant, speaks with media after becoming the first First Nations woman to serve in the legislature in Victoria on Feb. 17, 2016.

VICTORIA — British Columbia's New Democrat Premier John Horgan was sworn in on Tuesday.

He announced that his cabinet is the first in B.C. to achieve gender parity, with 10 women in cabinet and one named as minister of state.

The cabinet also includes a First Nations woman for the first time, with Melanie Mark named minister of advanced education, skills and training. In 2016, Mark became the first woman from a First Nation to serve as an MLA.

The province will also have a Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions for the first time.

More: B.C. NDP Form Government For First Time In 16 Years

Here is a complete list of the new government's cabinet ministers:

  • Carole James: finance and deputy premier
  • Mike Farnworth: public safety and solicitor general
  • Adrian Dix: health
  • David Eby: attorney general
  • Melanie Mark: advanced education, skills and training
  • Lana Popham: agriculture
  • Katrine Conroy: children and family development
  • Jinny Sims: citizens' services
  • Rob Fleming: education
  • Michelle Mungall: energy, mines and petroleum resources
  • George Heyman: environment and climate change strategy
  • Doug Donaldson: forests, lands, natural resource operations and rural development
  • Scott Fraser: indigenous relations and reconciliation
  • Bruce Ralston: jobs, trade and technology
  • Harry Bains: labour
  • Judy Darcy: mental health and addictions
  • Selina Robinson: municipal affairs and housing
  • Shane Simpson: social development and poverty reduction
  • Lisa Beare: tourism, arts and culture
  • Claire Trevena: transportation and infrastructure
  • George Chow: minister of state for trade
  • Katrina Chen: minister of state for child care
  • Jennifer Rice: parliamentary secretary for emergency preparedness
  • Mable Elmore: parliamentary secretary for poverty reduction
  • Anne Kang: parliamentary secretary for seniors
  • Ravi Kahlon: parliamentary secretary for sport and multiculturalism
  • Rick Glumac: parliamentary secretary for technology
  • Bowinn Ma: parliamentary secretary for Translink

With files from Emma Paling

CLARIFICATION: A previous version of this story appeared with "Indigenous" in the headline. This version has been updated.

Also On HuffPost:

Photo gallery Outstanding Indigenous Leadership 2017 See Gallery