08/23/2017 07:22 EDT | Updated 08/25/2017 04:25 EDT

Field of candidates now set for Saskatchewan provincial byelection

SASKATOON — The names of five candidates will be on the ballot when voters go to the polls in a provincial byelection next month in Saskatchewan.

Elections Saskatchewan says candidates representing five registered political parties had filed their papers by the time nominations closed at 2:00 p.m. Tuesday for the Sept. 7 vote in the Saskatoon-Fairview constituency.

Cameron Scott is running for the Saskatchewan Party, Vicki Mowat will represent the NDP, David Prokopchuk is the Progressive Conservative candidate, Shah Rukh is carrying the Liberal banner and Taylor Bolin is stumping for the Saskatchewan Green Party.

Advance polling has been scheduled for Aug. 31, as well as Sept. 1, 2, 3 and 5.

There were four candidates on the Saskatoon-Fairview ballot in last year's provincial election.

The byelection became necessary when SaskParty MLA Jennifer Campeau announced her retirement in June after securing a job with mining company Rio Tinto in British Columbia.