01/02/2019 16:37 EST | Updated 01/02/2019 16:37 EST

Nanaimo Byelection 2019: MP Sheila Malcolmson Aims To Keep Crucial BC NDP Seat In Jan. 30 Vote

The governing New Democrats have 40 seats. The BC Liberals have 42.

Facebook/Sheila Malcomson
MP Sheila Malcomson is shown with B.C. Premier John Horgan in a photo posted to Malcomson's Facebook.

VICTORIA — The date of Jan. 30th has been set for a byelection to replace the member from Nanaimo, B.C., with the potential to upset the balance of power in the provincial legislature.

Five-term New Democrat MLA Leonard Krog resigned in November after he was elected mayor of Nanaimo.

The results of the byelection are key because Krog's resignation gives the New Democrats just 40 seats in the house, while the Liberals have 42 and there is one Independent.

The NDP has been governing with the support of the three Green party members in the legislature.

More from HuffPost Canada:

Premier John Horgan has said the byelection would be called before his government presents its budget in February.

NDP member of Parliament Sheila Malcolmson will represent the New Democrats, while retired teacher Michele Ney is running for the Greens, and local businessman Tony Harris has the Liberal nomination.

Watch: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, B.C. Premier Laud LNG Canada Approval