The B.C. Conservative Party has lost its third candidate in one week, this time over comments made about women and single mothers in a newspaper column.

Mischa Popoff, the B.C. Conservative candidate in Boundary-Similkameen, was dropped late Thursday night over comments that were "insensitive and disrespectful" to women and single mothers, the party said in a news release.

Earlier Thursday, it emerged that Popoff had refused to apologize for a newspaper column in which he criticized single moms for having kids "without a man by their side" and called the Missing Women Inquiry a "waste of time," The Vancouver Sun reported.

The announcement came just one day after Ian Tootill was dumped as the Conservative candidate in Vancouver-False Creek after he questioned whether Hitler was to blame for the rise of Nazism.

Earlier, North Vancouver-Lonsdale candidate Jeff Sprague stepped down over what was called an "unfortunate personal incident."

FULL TEXT OF THE B.C. Conservative news release:

April 25, 2013 - The BC Conservatives released the following statement today regarding comments made by Mischa Popoff:

"Mr. Popoff's various comments were insensitive and disrespectful, particularly to women and single mothers who are, in fact, heroes to their children and their communities in many cases. We are a party that believes in a respectful airing of views. Mr. Popoff's statements were unacceptable and he has been removed as a candidate."

Also on HuffPost:

Loading Slideshow...
  • Michelle Stilwell

    The four-time Paralympic gold medallist is the BC Liberal candidate in Parksville-Qualicum.

  • Duane Nickull

    Duane Nickull, a "technical evangelist," is carrying the B.C. Conservative banner against the premier in Vancouver-Point Grey. Nickull sold his software company to Adobe Systems in 2003 and has lectured around the world. In his spare time, he plays bass guitar and sings in an indie-rock band.

  • Sam Sullivan

    Former Vancouver mayor <a href="">Sam Sullivan</a> will represent the B.C. Liberals in the riding of Vancouver-False Creek.

  • David Eby

    <a href="">David Eby</a>, the public face of the B.C. Civil Liberties Association, will try to unseat Premier Christy Clark in her Vancouver-Point Grey riding for a second time as the B.C. NDP candidate.

  • Peter Fassbender

    <a href="">Peter Fassbender</a>, the current mayor of Langley, is running in Surrey-Fleetwood for the B.C. Liberals after another star contender, <a href="">Sukh Dhaliwal</a>, was forced to step down.

  • Andrew Weaver

    World-renowned climate change expert <a href="">Andrew Weaver</a> is running in the Victoria-area riding of Oak Bay-Gordon Head for the Green Party of B.C. Weaver alleged in December that the NDP tried to get him to step down from his candidacy.

  • Jodie Emery

    Marijuana legalization activist, business owner <a href="">Jodie Emery</a> is running in the Vancouver's West End riding for the B.C. Green Party.

  • Darryl Plecas

    <a href="">Darryl Plecas</a>, criminology professor at the University of the Fraser Valley, will be running as a B.C. Liberal in Abbotsford South for John van Dongen's legislature seat.

  • Amrik Virk

    RCMP Insp. Amrik Virk is the BC Liberal candidate in Surrey-Tynehead. He has been active in youth and gang violence prevention.

  • Matt Toner

    <a href="">Matt Toner</a> beat Vision Vancouver park board commissioner Constance Barnes in a tight nomination race to represent the B.C. NDP in Vancouver-False Creek.

  • Chris Wilson

    Two-time world champion wrestler <a href="">Chris Wilson</a> beat punk rocker <a href="">Joe Keithley</a> for the B.C. NDP endorsement in Coquitlam-Burke Mountain.

  • Suzanne Anton

    Suzanne Anton, former Vancouver city councillor and NPA mayoral candidate, is running for the B.C. Liberals in Vancouver-Fraserview after being rejected for the Vancouver-Quilchena nomination.

Loading Slideshow...
  • Vancouver-False Creek

    This gallery shows maps of ridings that could be up for grabs in the 2013 B.C. election. B.C. Liberal Sam Sullivan (far left), B.C. NDP candidate Matt Toner (centre left), Green candidate Daniel Tseghay (centre right), and independent Ian Tootill (right) are on the ballot to fill the vacant seat.

  • Abbotsford South

    Independent MLA John van Dongen's (right) bid for re-election is being challenged by B.C. Liberal Darryl Plecas (left) and NDP candidate Lakhvinder Jhaj (centre).

  • Cariboo North

    Independent MLA Bob Simpson (centre) is being challenged by B.C. Liberal Coralee Oakes (left) and NDP candidate Duncan Barnett (left).

  • Peace River North

    B.C. Liberal MLA Pat Pimm (right) is up against NDP contender Judy Fox-McGuire (left) and independent candidate Arthur Hadland (centre).

  • Langley

    B.C. Liberals' Transportation Minister Mary Polak (right) is being challenged by Conservative leader John Cummins (far left), NDP candidate Andrew Mercier (centre left), and Green Party nominee Wally Martin (centre right).

  • Victoria-Beacon Hill

    B.C. NDP MLA Carole James (right) is being challenged by the province's Green Party leader Jane Sterk (left) and Liberal candidate Karen Bill (not pictured).

  • Oak Bay-Gordon Head

    B.C. Liberal Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development Ida Chong (far left) is being challenged by NDP Jessica van der Veen (far left), Conservative nominee Greg Kazakoff (centre right), and Green party candidate Andrew Weaver (right).

  • Saanich North and the Islands

    B.C. Liberal candidate Stephen Roberts (left) is up against NDP candidate Gary Holman (centre) and Green Party nominee Adam Olsen (right).

  • Vancouver-Point Grey

    Premier Christy Clark (far left) is being challenged by NDP candidate David Eby (centre left), Green Party nominee Francoise Raunet (centre right), Conservative Duane Nickull (far right), independent William Gibbens (not pictured), Work Less Party's Hollis Linschoten (not pictured), and B.C. Libertarian Marisa Palmer (not pictured).

  • Abbotsford West

    B.C. Liberals Finance Minister Michael de Jong (far right) is being challenged by Green Party's Stephen O'Shea (far left), NDP nominee Sukhi Dhami (centre left), Conservative Paul Redekopp (centre right), and independent candidate Moe Gill (not pictured).