NEWS

Andrew Shaw's Header Goal Doesn't Count. And That's A Shame.

05/20/2015 01:04 EDT | Updated 05/20/2015 03:59 EDT

Had this been the World Cup final, Chicago Blackhawks player Andrew Shaw would be a national hero.

Sadly, it was just Game 2 of the Western Conference final in the Stanley Cup playoffs. And Shaw's outstanding header goal was disallowed in the second overtime.

Down one game to the Anaheim Ducks, the Blackhawks found themselves crowding the net in front of goalie Frederik Andersen.

With the puck in the air, Shaw leapt and struck it with his helmet to send it past Andersen, leading the Blackhawks to think they'd won the game.

Sadly, the goal was called off by the referee moments later. The 'Hawks would go on to win in the third overtime period.

Shaw may not have been a hero in this game.

But if hockey doesn't work out for him down the road, we highly recommend a late career as a soccer player.

That's one sport that encourages athletes to use their heads.

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter

ALSO ON HUFFPOST:

Blackhawks Visit The White House