Featuring fresh takes and real-time analysis from HuffPost's signature lineup of contributors
Mennonite Girls Can Cook

GET UPDATES FROM Mennonite Girls Can Cook
 

RECIPE: Homemade Gluten-Free Bagels

Posted: 06/25/2013 12:25 pm

2013-06-25-blogbagels.jpg


I have tried several times to make gluten free bagels that satisfy me the way the regular wheat ones used to -- my favourite order at Tim Hortons. I finally am happy with this recipe. I like the plain bagels with poppy seed tops, toasted and spread with cream cheese but you can change up the recipe by adding your favourite flavours and toppings.

1 cup warm water
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp unflavoured gelatin
1 1/2 tbsp. traditional yeast
2 lg. egg whites
3/4 cup millet flour
3/4 brown rice flour
1/3 cup white bean flour (or chick pea flour)
2/3 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup potato starch
1 tbsp potato flour
1 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt

sweet rice flour
olive oil
boiling water
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg white plus 2 tbsp water for wash
Mix sugar, gelatin and yeast then stir into 1 cup warm water and let proof (until doubled in volume)
Blend together all dry ingredients and set aside.
Break egg whites in bowl of stand mixer and beat until frothy.
Add proofed yeast and stir.
Add all the dry ingredients all at once, stir until liquid is absorbed and then beat on higher speed until dough is smooth and elastic -- about 1 minute.
Dough will be a little sticky -- that's good... turn it out on counter dusted with sweet rice flour. Knead lightly until dough is just nice to handle.
Form a roll and cut it into 10 even pieces.
Oiling hands liberally with olive oil. Take each piece and form into a round flat disk. Try to make it as as smooth as possible -- any cracks will magnify when baking.
Place disk on parchment lined cookie sheet -- poke your finger down through the middle and twirl the disk around to form the centre hole of the bagel.
Using fingers or fine pastry brush oil the tops of the bagels. Place pan of bagels in warm place to rise for about 45 minutes.
Put pan of water on to boil -- make sure it is at least 1 1/2 inches deep -- the bigger the pan the more bagels can be boiled at one time.
Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.
When bagels have finished rising, place them in the hot oven to flash bake them for 4 minutes.
Remove them from the oven and turn the oven down to 375 degrees.
Placing the bagels upside down in the boiling water, boil them for three minutes, then turn them right side up to boil for another three minutes. Lift them out of the water back onto the parchment lined pan.
Using the egg white wash brush tops and add your favourite topping.
Bake for about 30 minutes until golden brown.

For more tasty gluten free recipes visit www.mennonitegirlscancook.ca

Loading Slideshow...
  • Soy Sauce

    <strong>Soy Sauce: </strong>Sad news for fans of Chinese cuisine: soy sauce has just a few ingredients, and one of them is wheat. That doesn't mean you can no longer enjoy a bit of soy sauce and wasabi with your sushi—though skip the tempura. Fortunately, <a href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/07/commonly-mistaken-foods_n_1475582.html#s936725&title=Soy_Sauce_vs" target="_hplink">tamari is an excellent substitute</a> that tastes the same but doesn't have the gluten. <a href="http://bragg.com/products/la.html" target="_hplink">Bragg's Liquid Aminos</a> also do the job, and has less sodium. Just make sure to ask about any soy sauce that may be used in your food during cooking when you're eating out.

  • Thickener

    If a packaged food says "thickener" anywhere on the label, proceed with caution. In Canada, <a href="http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/label-etiquet/allergen/index-eng.php" target="_hplink">food labels now have to indicate if a major allergen—including gluten or wheat—is present</a>, which is one more reason why reading labels is a fact of life now. But foods imported from other countries may not follow those rules, and prepared foods at restaurants won't be that clear either. Pay particular attention to sauces, soups, and salad dressings, where flour is often used to thicken.

  • Generic Tylenol

    April Peveteaux, a blogger and author of <em>Gluten Is My Bitch</em> was surprised to learn that the generic acetaminophen she was taking for stomach pain contained gluten. Other medications and supplements contain gluten, and that information is not always available on the packaging. The website <a href="http://www.glutenfreedrugs.com/" target="_hplink">Gluten Free Drugs</a> provides a list of safe medications.

  • Faux Meats

    If you're vegetarian and gluten free, get acquainted with beans, because a lot of the faux meats you may have relied on before are not going to be an option. Many faux meats contain vital wheat gluten as a key component, and considering gluten is right in the name of the ingredient, that's a no no. Tofu and tempeh are gluten free, assuming if nothing has been added to them, but seitan is not.

  • Starbucks Light Syrup

    Peveteaux's tale of the <a href="http://glutenismybitch.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/r-i-p-starbucks-skinny-vanilla-latte/" target="_hplink">skinny vanilla lattes from Starbucks</a> is a perfect example of how those who are gluten free have to do extra digging when eating outside of the home. When it became clear that she was eating gluten from an unknown source, she started digging and by contacting Starbucks directly she learned that the company uses gluten in its light drink syrups. An excuse to get the full-fat version?

  • Communion Wafers

    Yes, most communion wafers have gluten, though there are some companies making a gluten-free option. You could consider asking your diocese to provide the gluten-free variety if you take communion, though there is some controversy over <a href="http://www.celiac.com/articles/22980/1/Gluten-free-Communion-Wafers-Not-Holy-Says-Catholic-Diocese-in-Ohio/Page1.html" target="_hplink">whether or not they're allowed by the Catholic Church</a>.

  • Lipstick

    Turns out it's not true that the <a href="http://www.snopes.com/science/stats/lipstick.asp" target="_hplink">average woman eats six pounds of lipstick over her lifetime</a>, but you do put it on your mouth, so <a href="http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/faqs/f/Kissing.htm" target="_hplink">you'll want to make sure it's gluten free</a>—and not all of it is. Most cosmetic companies don't list this on the packaging, so you may have to do some digging here.

  • Spice Blends

    Straight spices like dried herbs should be fine for anyone avoiding gluten, but spice mixes can sometimes be a problem. Wheat flour or wheat starch is sometimes used as a carrier agent in pre-mixed spice blends; if you can't find out if a particular blend is safe, then it may be wisest to make your own combos. (On the plus side, this is fun!) Blogger Shauna James Ahern at Gluten-Free Girl <a href="http://glutenfreegirl.com/2011/07/why-we-have-been-using-mccormick-gourmet-spices/" target="_hplink">recommends spices and blends from McCormick Gourmet</a> as gluten free, after working with the company and touring their facilities.

  • Ice cream

    Of course you'll have to <a href="http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/GlutenFreeSnacks/a/Gluten-Free-Ice-Cream.htm" target="_hplink">avoid ingredients like cookies and cookie dough in your ice cream</a>, but there can be less obvious sources of gluten in your frozen treats as well. Watch for flavourings like malt as well, and specialty flavours that would be made in smaller batches may have increased risk of cross contamination.

  • Licorice

    Did you ever stop to think about what those red licorice sticks are made of, other than the obvious sugar? Turns out the key ingredient is wheat, which makes them off limits on a gluten-free diet.

  • Malt Vinegar

    Malt vinegar is often made with barley, which is a gluten-containing grain, so this ingredient can be problematic. Distilled malt vinegar is generally considered safe because the distillation process removes any traces of gluten. Some people who are highly sensitive <a href="http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/Gluten-Free-Condiments/f/Gluten-Free-Vinegar.htm" target="_hplink">still report issues with vinegars made from gluten-containing grains</a>, so you may want to proceed with caution.

 

Follow Mennonite Girls Can Cook on Twitter: www.twitter.com/mgirlscancook

FOLLOW TASTE