10/19/2015 09:02 EDT | Updated 10/20/2015 02:59 EDT

Megan Leslie, NDP Incumbent, Loses Halifax Seat

One of the NDP’s star candidates has lost her seat in Halifax.

Megan Leslie, the NDP incumbent MP and deputy leader of the federal party, was unseated by Liberal challenger Andy Fillmore. The surprise upset ends the NDP’s hold on the Maritime riding — a seat the party has held since 1997.

Leslie was first elected to represent Halifax in 2008 after former NDP leader Alexa McDonough chose to not run for re-election.

But Leslie wasn’t the only star NDP incumbent to fall. Veteran Toronto MPs Andrew Cash and Peggy Nash also lost their seats. So did chief opposition whip Nycole Turmel and Ottawa Centre’s Paul Dewar.

Crossing to the Prairies, longtime MP Pat Martin fell to Liberal candidate Robert-Falcon Ouellette in Winnipeg Centre. Martin, known for his colourful language and tight-underwear incident, has held the seat for the past 18 years.

canada election footer

Like Us On Facebook


In Photos: Canada Election 2015